andrea parker26 year old Andrea Parker has started very young producing music in a studio in Kent, influenced by Ryuichi Sakamoto and This Mortal Coil. She also learned to play some instruments. “I didn’t learn anything for very long, so I don’t want anybody to think I’m an amazing piano player or anything. I just got attached to cello, because it’s the saddest instrument”, that’s how she describes her experiences during this period. And her use of cello sounds together with fat electro beats made her famous.

The she moved over to London where she still lives. She worked in the cult record shop Fat Cat and started her DJ career in clubs such as Lost, Dusted and Megatripolis, making a mixture of hip hop and electro her personal trade mark. Andrea Parker released records under different names (f.e. Inky Blacknuss together with David Morley) on labels such as R&S, Infonet and Andrew Weatherall’s Sabrettes. These productions drew James Lavelle’s attention on this incredibly talented musician, who signed up with his cult label Mo Wax. With her first two EPs on Mo Wax “Melodiuos Thonk” and “Rocking Chair” (on this she works with an orchestra of 40 musicians) Andrea Parker conviced even the hardest critics.

She also is a very in demand DJ and remixer. Her interpretations of such diverse artists as Depeche Mode, Lamb, Junkster, P. Pulsinger, The Orb, Ryuichi Sakamoto brought even the godfather of minimal music Steve Reich to ask for a remix of “Four Sections”. Andrea Parker is now coming on strong. With her DJ Kicks on Studio K7 and her album to be released on Mo Wax at the end of the year a big international breakthrough is most probable!

Here we go! Andrea Parker DJ Kicks is deeply groovin’ and phantastically mixed, melting hip hop, old school electro, breakbeats and classic track to an amazing trip through the history of electro. It opens with her remix of Depeche Mode’s “It’s No Good” setting the groove level for the following tracks by Renegade Soundwave, Carl Craig, Dr. Octagon, Model 500, Afrika Bambaata, Drexciya and Andrea Parker herself. Man Parrish’s “Hip Hop Be Bop” and COD’s “In The Bottle” are further highlights of the set. You got to hear it to believe it! A real essential new edition of “DJ Kicks” . Big respect!  or saying it in Deee Lite’s words:


1.          Depeche Mode – It’s No Good (Andrea Parker Mix)
2.          Dr Octagon – Earth People (Earth Planet Mix)
3.          Piece – Free Your Mind
4.          Reminiscence Quartet – Psycodelico
5.          69 – Desire
6.          Man Parrish – Hip Hop Be Bop (Don’t Stop)
7.          Gescom – Puzl
8.          G-File – G String Remix (Andrea Parker)
9.          C.O.D. – In The Bottle
10.        Two Sandwiches Short Of A Lunchbox – Too Good To Be Strange
11.        Renegade Soundwave – The Phantom (It’s In There)
12.        Afrika Bambaata And The Soulsonic Force – Renegades Chant
13.        Sons Of The Subway – Da Tunnelz
14.        Space DJ’z – Celestial Funk
15.        Model 500 – Night Drive
16.        Dopplereffekt – Cellularphone
17.        DJ Panic – Vision Of Mars
18.        Voigt Kampff – Asphalt
19.        Drexciya – Hydro Theory
20.       Andrea Parker – Unconnected