apparatSasha Ring’s work under his Apparat moniker has always been evolving; over three albums on the Shitkatapult label and the collaborative full lengths with Ellen Allien and Modeselektor as Moderat on Bpitch Control, he’s surprised a lot of listeners with his output. Confined to little or no definitive style his music has always been in a constant state of metamorphosis, simultaneously breaching new waters and staying true to his unique spirit of musical openness and his obvious passion for sound design.

Aptly joking that his DJ KiCKs selection reflects his style to “not really have a style” it’s evident that Ring is more than aware that his contribution to the series might look ‘intelligent’ on paper – with the tracklist aligning variant artists like Oval, Autechre, Ripperton and Thom Yorke – but given his recent tour at the start of the year, it’s simply a representation of where he’s at in terms of modern music.  “I didn’t want to make this kind of ‘smart’ mix, that’s eclectic and sounds like it’s done ‘on purpose;’ but I need to do different things to keep myself motivated,” Ring explains. “At first I wanted to make a collection of influences, all kinds of old songs but then sometimes with those mixes it’s hard to keep some kind of flow and they’re just not very easy to listen to, so I ended up using good new music; music that almost gave me hope that there’s more out there than boring minimal techno.”  The Apparat contribution is as stylized as the preceding mixes in the series from Kode 9 and James Holden; with Ring embracing the opportunity to create a mix that represents both his personality and his brave take on ‘club’ music. With an incredibly prevalent talent for manipulation of both tempos and melodies, Ring includes tracks from a handful of dubstep producers like Dutch producer Martyn – whose ‘Miniluv’ provides a glorious rhythmic propulsion when under-layed beneath Patrice Baumel’s ‘Sub’ – and Ramadanman’s ‘Tempest’ – whose melody all but dissipates at the optimum moment – layering and blending them perfectly with tracks from across an array of genres from Autechre’s percussive white noise to Oval’s erratically colourful sound slices or the echoed clicks of Phon.o’s ‘Intervall.’

“A mix needs a bit of dynamic,’ he states. “There were these weirder things I wanted to use, like this Four Tet remix (of Born Ruffian’s ‘I Need A Life’) and then there are some tracks i had to use as tools to glue it all togehter. The way I used the Martyn track is more of a tool to adjust the Patrice Baumel track dynamically to the following ones. But most of the songs are in there for musical reasons. All these artists have their own sound signatures and manage to inject that space into every new song they produce.”

Achieving a sense of progression in the mix through both his selections and his awareness of sonic space, Ring manages to harness his enthusiasms for frequency perfect soundscapes, often creating moments of sheer beauty out of his polarized composite parts.

“The mix isn’t that balanced when it comes to melody I guess,” he continues, considering his point. “There’s a lot of sweetness on there, but it is dark and mysterious at points. I guess the bittersweet-ness has long been kind of my thing and with this mix I was just trying to spice it up a bit.”


1.         Apparat – Circles
2.         69 – Rushed
3.         Telefon Tel Aviv – Lengthening Shadows
4.         Apparat – Interlude
5.         Luke Abbott – More Room
6.         Oval – Legendary
7.         Patrice Bämel – Sub
8.         Martyn – Miniluv (Original Mix)
9.         Ripperton – Echocity
10.       Cosmin TRG – Tower Block
11.       Scorn – Falling (Autechre “FR 13” Remix)
12.       Born Ruffians – I Need A Life (Four Tet Remix)
13.       Pantha Du Prince – Welt Am Draht
14.       Phon.o – Intervall
15.       Burial + Four Tet – Moth
16.       Vincent Markowski – The Madness Of Moths
17.       Ramadanman – Tempest
18.       Thom Yorke – Harrowdown Hill
19.       Spherix – Lesser People
20.       Oval – TV Power
21.       Joy Orbison – The Shrew Would Have Cushioned The Blow
22.       Apparat – Sayulita (DJ-KiCKS)
23.       T++ – Worn Down
24.       Tim Hecker – Borderlands


Get this album here:

Be Sociable, Share!
Tagged , , , , | 15 Comments

15 responses to “APPARAT DJ-KICKS”

  1. […] DJ-Kicks comp is an exercise in beauty, with evocative tracks from a wide swathe of producers ranging from […]

  2. […] por Sascha Ring a.k.a. Apparat. Un corte que ha sido producido con carácter exclusivo para el último número del Dj Kicks que él mismo ha realizado. Ni siquiera he escuchado el tema cuando he decidido postearlo. Apparat […]

  3. […] from Telefon Tel Aviv, Luke Abbot, Born Ruffians, Burial, Ramadanman, and Thom Yorke. Learn more here. Share and […]

  4. MEMEs says:

    Good work! This album can be added to the great albums of 2010 side by side with four tet and caribou!

  5. petesrdic says:

    This is such an awesome release !
    Granted I think Apparat can do no wrong, but his track selection here is almost perfect (as is evidenced by how many of these tracks I have now bought from Beatport).
    Also his own tracks are pure Apparat goodness and “Circles” is quite stunning and have that unique Apparat signature.
    This will sit as one of my favourite CD’s of the year, along with Fehlmann’s Gute Luft. Bloody brilliant stuff.

  6. […] 10           Apparat / DJ Kicks […]

  7. […] starting point for this set – for me a very atypical selection – was Apparat´s DJ Kicks on K7! , released in 2010. It was the tracklisting which inspired me give my ear to more and more tracks […]

  8. […] Apparat, the guy behind the masterpiece Things to be frickled and other beauty’s. Just buy and enjoy if you are into chili beats… […]

  9. Senel Oyhen says:

    this album definitly kicks, again and again.

  10. […] The Arcade Fire and a whole heap of more obscure releases. Just last night I bought the new Apparat DJ-Kicks compilation. Next month will see EMusic expand in a big way as it absorbs the Universal Music catalogue […]

  11. Mr. Kittenface says:

    on my first couple listens and this is an AMAZING mix.

  12. […] his amazing DJ-Kicks-Mix, Sascha Ring aka Apparat will release the brand new studio album ‘The Devil’s […]

  13. […] label, I have reason to believe he will continue the recent winning streak (I’m thinking of Apparat and MCDE) in the series. At least that’s what the tracklist suggests.01. Sigha – […]

  14. BAGMAN says:

    It’s an amazing mix. One of my favorite I’ve ever come across.

  15. Walter says:

    The Shrew Would Have Cushioned The Blow/Sayulita provide very deep sensations. Frightening !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *